Stricker
PGP Banner

Restaurant BizTalk

A forum for restaurant owners, managers, and other industry professionals.

5,935 Discussions and 46,496 Posts
Scott B Joined
May / 2016

Do you use a social media consultant /agency?

Hello,  I'm new to this site & an independent social media consultant. I've been the Community Manager for small businesses (>30 employees) since 2010.  I'm renegotiating my arrangement with a client that I've been working with for 3 years. Put simply, I've been averaging $4.65/hr for them ($650/mo). It wasn't bad because I also held a full-time day job that paid me quite well. However, I recently left that job after 11 years to dedicate all of my time to social media. The establishments revenue has increased tremendously the past 3 years along with me garnering them over 1k fans/followers /<3k Facebook fans. I averaged 4-6 hrs/day, 7day/wk for them. Now,  I'm asking for $15/hr (market rate)  for 6-8hrs/day, 7days/wk because they need to step their marketing do to a fiercely competitive local market.  They tell me that they can't do it because that would be paying me almost as much as the GM & more than the Chef.  We will work something out because I love the establishment, staff & community but I'm curious to see if anyone else uses someone like myself to market your business? & if so, what do you think is a fair value for someone providing these services? 

T_P_HJoined
May / 2012
T_P_H

I couldn't even fathom paying someone $15 an hour 42-56 hours a week to "manage my social media".

Social media isn't rocket science and it's value is grossly overstated.

OccasionalChefJoined
Dec / 2015
OccasionalChef

I'd take whatever they're paying you and wear a mask and hold my breath if I were you. A restaurant that simply answers questions on their FB page will get that many followers simply by existing, so the idea that you need to hire someone to make a couple of posts a day is folly.